New Hire Report
Federal law now mandates that all employers, regardless of size or type of business, comply with their state’s New Hire reporting requirements. In Massachusetts, the new hire requirements apply to all employers regardless of their size. Fines for failure to report new hires range from $25 per employee up to $500 per employee.
Massachusetts requires that employers with more than 25 employees report new hire information within 14 days of hire. Employers must report:
- All newly hired employees who work in Massachusetts
- Individuals who are returning to the payroll after a lapse in pay of thirty days or more
- All newly hired independent contractors to whom you anticipate paying more than $600 in a given year
BizChecks Payroll transmits all clients new hire information electronically regardless of the size of the business.